top of page

St. John Ambulance - Cardiac First Responder


I've been member of St. John Ambulance for 4 years now and I'm also doing it as part of my TY Community Work and Gaisce Community Work. St. John Ambulance is something that really changed my life, through it I've met the most amazing people, had the most amazing opportunities and learned skills which will be invaluable for the rest of my life. I currently hold rank of Lance Corporal which means I'm an NCO (Non Commissioned Officer). That's just fancy jargon for I teach recruits first aid. One of the great opportunities which was given to me recently through St.John was to do a CFR-C Course (Cardiac First Responder - Community). A cardiac first responder is someone who's duty is to attend to any casualty who suffers from a cardiac issue.

During the course we were taught all about the cardiovascular system, myocardial infarction (heart attack), how to use AEDs and how to perform effective CPR.

It was a two-day long course which took place in Beanevin De La Salle College, Glasnevin, and thankfully I passed my assessment so i am now recognized as a Cardiac First Responder by PHECC. As cool as it all sounds, the best part about it... 20% off a cheeky nandos!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page